OEUK news

Safety champions of the North Sea energy industry announced

21 September 2022

Safety champions of the North Sea have been recognised at the 2022 Offshore Safety Awards at The P&J Live. 

The annual awards ceremony, jointly organised by OEUK and Step Change in Safety and sponsored by Harbour Energy, celebrates the outstanding individuals and companies going above and beyond to improve safety across offshore energy operations.

This year’s event marks the 25th anniversary of Step Change in Safety, the member-led organisation which aims to make working conditions in the UK offshore energy industry the safest in the world.

Finalists were considered for six awards: Maritime Safety, Safety Representative, Welfare and Wellbeing, Operational Integrity, Workforce Engagement and Sharing and Learning.

The audience had the unique opportunity to decide the winners through an interactive vote.

Mark Wilson, OEUK’s Health, Safety and Environment Director, commented:

“Recognising companies who have gone above and beyond in the name of maintaining safe operations across our industry is so important.

“Oil and gas will remain a vital resource to the UK for decades to come, so it’s important that working conditions and operations remain safe.

“The UK Continental Shelf is one of the safest basins in the world to do business, and I’d like to say a heartfelt well done and thank you to all who play an important part in helping us maintain this leadership.”

Step Change in Safety Executive Director, Steve Rae, commented:

“Co-hosting these events is a real honour for Step Change in Safety and as such we are delighted that the awards form part of our 25th anniversary celebrations.

“This also allows us to share many examples of good practice across our expanding global membership and into the emerging alternative energy sectors.  I would like to thank all those who took the time to submit proposals and in particular pass on my congratulations to all category winners.”

The winners are:

  • Award for Maritime Safety – Artur Stols, Vroon Offshore Services Ltd
  • Award for Safety Representative of the Year – Alan Bartlett, Stork
  • Award for Welfare and Wellbeing – North Sea Mental Health Champions, bp
  • Award for Operational Integrity – Rebecca Main, Anasuria Operating Company
  • Award for Workforce Engagement – Ian McKnight & Paul Parkes, Wood
  • Award for Sharing and Learning – Sean Buchan, Global E&C

Share this article

Working together, producing cleaner energies