OEUK news

Offshore Safety awards: 2022 finalists announced

21 July 2022

Finalists have been announced for this year’s Offshore Safety Awards, jointly organised by OEUK and Step Change in Safety.

The awards celebrate the excellent work being done by companies and people to promote safety across the industry. 

Held on Thursday 8 September at the P&J Live in Aberdeen, this year’s event will be part of the 25th anniversary of Step Change in Safety, the member-led organisation which aims to make the UKCS the safest oil province in the world to work in.

This year’s event, sponsored by Harbour Energy, offers the audience the unique opportunity to decide the winners through an interactive vote, following an award submission from each finalist.
Finalists include:

Maritime Safety 

Vitalii Kushmila, Solstad
Bill O’Hara, Stena Drilling Ltd
Artur Stols, Vroon Offshore Services Ltd

Safety Rep

Anders Petter Andersen, Aker Solutions 
Mark Quigley,  bp
Alan Bartlett, Stork

Welfare and Wellbeing

North Sea Mental Health Champions, bp
Allan Errington, ESS (part of Compass Group)
Peterson Energy Logistics

Operational Integrity 

Rebecca Main, Anasuria Operating Company
Lee Hunter, Bureau Veritas Marine and Offshore
CAN Group

Workforce Engagement

Harbour Elected Safety Representatives, Harbour Energy
JinHan Lim, TotalEnergies E&P UK
Ian McKnight & Paul Parkes, Wood

Sharing and Learning
3t Energy Group
Sean Buchan, Global E&C
Virtual Marine / SAFER Training        

Commenting, Step Change in Safety Executive Director Steve Rae said:

“I’m delighted that we will see the return of the Offshore Safety Awards to the events calendar, particularly as it will be an integral part of Step Change in Safety’s 25th celebratory event. The OSA’s provide the ideal opportunity for employers and employees alike to showcase their ingenuity and commitment to improving health and safety in the offshore sector. 

“Once again, the standard and number of nominees received has exceeded expectations and reflects how importantly these awards are viewed. 

Steve continues, “The offshore energy sector continues to innovate and drive improved performance across health and safety management and we are delighted to once again be able to publicly recognise the hard work and dedication of these finalists. 

“It has been a real pleasure to work with OEUK in the planning and coordination of the awards and I would also like to extend my thanks to Step Change in Safety’s focal points, elected safety reps, OIM networks and event sponsors who had the difficult task of judging the numerous nominations. 

“The Step Change in Safety team look forward to welcoming all the finalists and wish them the best of luck at the awards event on 8th September at the P&J Live.” 

Tickets for this year’s event are still available. Please click here for more information

Share this article

Working together, producing cleaner energies