OEUK news

Oil and gas champions revealed as OGUK Award finalists announced

14 September 2021

Champions from across the UK’s offshore oil and gas sector have been revealed today (Monday 13 September) as the shortlist for this year’s prestigious OGUK Awards, sponsored by Shell U.K. Limited, was published.

A total of 27 entrants have been shortlisted after an expert panel considered over 90 nominees for the eight different award categories. The champions represent those who have made an extraordinary impact on the industry in the past year.

The event, considered the highlight of industry’s social calendar, will be taking place both virtually via live stream and physically on Wednesday 8 December at P&J Live in Aberdeen.

Interested parties can book their place at the highly anticipated black-tie event here.

Commenting on the announcement, OGUK CEO Deirdre Michie OBE said:  

“From an impressive list of submissions, these finalists are a real reflection of the great talent and expertise of our energy communities – those that personify the North Sea grit and innovation this industry has become known for.

“I am delighted to see this recognition for their accomplishments in keeping the UK’s lights on, our hospitals running, and transport systems going – all while really driving industry toward its net zero goals and transitioning the UK towards a sustainable future.”


Apprentice (sponsored by Opito):

  • Joel Murray, ASCO Group
  • Sam Tinning, bp
  • Grant Finnigan, Swagelok Scotland          

Graduate of the Year (sponsored by ECITB):        

  • Emma Farquharson, bp
  • Kushagra Kohli, Shell U.K. Limited            
  • Callum Thomson, Shell U.K. Limited        

Mentor of the Year:

  • Dr Ollie Folayan, PD&MS Group
  • Lee MacLean, Proserv Controls 
  • Kate Fraser, TotalEnergies           

Workforce Engagement (Sponsored by Spirit Energy):     

  • ChampionX                        
  • Oil Spill Response Limited                           
  • Stork                    


  • FENNEX Ltd
  • FutureOn                           
  • Imrandd

Business Innovation – Large Enterprise:                 

  • TotalEnergies E&P UK Limited                    
  • bp, Baker Hughes, Odfjell Drilling                              
  • Neptune Energy, National Grid, Perenco and Shell U.K. Limited                   

Diversity and Inclusion:

  • EnQuest
  • Worley               
  • Spirit Energy                    

Energy Transition (sponsored by The Oil and Gas Authority):

  • Equinor               
  • Worley                
  • Repsol Sinopec Resources UK Limited                     

Excellence in Decommissioning

  • AGR Well Management Limited                
  • Petrofac                              
  • Shell U.K. Limited                            


Apprentice of the Year

  • Francesca Bell, OGUK
  • Scott McDonald, OPITO
  • Scott Milligan, CNOOC International

Graduate of the Year

  • Mitch Flegg, Serica
  • Connor Robb, Baker Hughes
  • Lisa Williamson, ECITB

Mentor of the Year

  • José Luis Muñoz, Repsol Sinopec
  • Diana Samulewicz
  • Jenny Stanning, OGUK
  • Erica Smart, Shell U.K. Limited

Business Innovation – Large Enterprise

  • Colin Black, Carjon-NRG
  • Sophie Guy- Pearson, OGUK
  • Sian Lloyd Rees, Aker Solutions

Business Innovation – SME

  • Matthew Brodie, Noble Drilling (Land Support) Ltd
  • Mikki Corcoran, Schlumberger
  • Emily Taylor, OGUK

Diversity & Inclusion

  • Dr Ollie Folayan, AFBE UK Ltd
  • Katy Heidenreich, OGUK
  • Craig Shanaghey, Wood

Energy Transition

  • Jennifer Craw, ONE
  • Scott Robertson, OGA
  • Mike Tholen, OGUK

Excellence in Decommissioning

  • Joe Leask, OGUK
  • Lorna Ramsey, OPRED
  • Neil McCulloch, Spirit Energy

Workforce Engagement

  • Bob Egan, HSE
  • Scott McGinigal, CNOOC International
  • Alix Thom, OGUK
  • Jessica Thomson, Spirit Energy


Share this article

Working together, producing cleaner energies