OEUK news

Safety champions of the North Sea energy industry announced

21 September 2022

The winners of the Offshore Safety Awards 2024 have been announced at the Beach Ballroom in Aberdeen today.

The annual awards ceremony, jointly organised by OEUK and Step Change in Safety and sponsored by Harbour Energy, celebrates the outstanding individuals and companies going above and beyond to improve safety across offshore energy operations.

Included in this year’s awards were two new categories. The Major Hazard Awareness award, sponsored by CNOOC International, aims to recognise an individual or team who have positively influenced or improved a major accident hazard system.

Also new for 2024 is the Wellbeing and Workforce Environment award, sponsored by SLB. This award aims to recognise those who have actively engaged in improving their worksite or made a difference to their company’s approach to employee wellbeing and the workforce environment.

A total of 18 finalists were considered for six categories of awards, and the audience had the unique opportunity to decide the winners through an interactive vote.

Mark Wilson, OEUK’s Health, Safety, Environment and Operations Director, commented: “On behalf of the industry, I extend heartfelt congratulations to the winners of this year’s Offshore Safety Awards.

“Your unwavering commitment to excellence and innovation in safety practices sets a benchmark for the industry. Your dedication ensures not only the protection of our environment but also the wellbeing of every individual in our offshore operations.

“Thank you for leading the way and inspiring us all to strive for the highest standards of safety. The UK Continental Shelf is one of the safest basins in the world to do business, and I’d like to say well done to all who play an important part in helping us maintain this level of performance.”

Craig Wiggins, CEO, Step Change in Safety, commented: “It is always a pleasure to co-host these awards which shine a spotlight on individuals and organisations who play their part in making the energy industry a safer, healthier and happier workplace.

“We can all be inspired and learn from the finalists and category winners’ stories which each reflect shining examples of best practice across industry sectors. I would like to thank all those involved in making this flagship event a success and to everyone who took the time to submit nominations. Once again, my congratulations to the finalists and winners.”

Gatsbyd Forsyth, Senior Vice President North Sea HSES at Harbour Energy said: “Being a safety leader is not just about adhering to protocols; it’s about inspiring others to take safety seriously. That is exactly what the Offshore Safety Awards are all about – recognising and showcasing the efforts of our most valuable asset, our people, to drive a culture of safety excellence across the sector.”

Congratulations to this year’s winners and the many excellent finalists, who took the time to share their commitment to, and accountability for, transforming our industry.”

The winners are:

  • Award for Maritime Safety, Sponsored by Marine Safety Forum – Paul Davison, Anasuria Operating Company Limited
  • Award for Safety Representative of the year, Sponsored by OPITO – Kevin Clark, Serica Energy plc
  • Award for Wellbeing and Workforce Environment, Sponsored by SLB – David Leiper, Harbour Energy
  • Award for Workforce Engagement, Sponsored by Apache – Broken Rules Campaign Team, TotalEnergies
  • Award for Major Hazard Awareness, Sponsored by CNOOC International, Frank French, Blair Field Services Ltd
  • Award for Sharing and Learning, Sponsored by Spirit Energy – Callum Chesshire, Anasuria Operating Company Limited 

Share this article

Working together, producing cleaner energies