OEUK news

UK offshore talent on show as finalists revealed

4 September 2018

Efforts to find this year’s outstanding individuals and companies in the UK’s offshore oil and gas industry have moved a step closer today as Oil & Gas UK announced the finalists for the Oil & Gas UK Awards 2018.

28 finalists have been listed in consideration for nine awards, including a new Excellence in Decommissioning Award.

The judging panel for the prestigious event within the oil and gas industry calendar, sponsored by Shell U.K Limited, has selected finalists from scores of nominations. The winners will be announced at a black-tie event on Thursday 1 November at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre.

Commenting, Oil & Gas UK’s Stakeholder and Communications Director Gareth Wynn said:

“Now in its 18th year, the Oil & Gas UK Awards continue to reflect the very best of our pioneering industry.

“Reflecting the changing landscape, we are delighted to introduce a new Excellence in Decommissioning Award. With 28 finalists up for nine awards, our judging panel faced a difficult decision selecting a shortlist from an outstanding calibre of entrants.

“We’d like to wish our finalists the best of luck and thank those who entered. The awards are an exciting showcase of the talent the UK offshore industry has to offer the world.”

The awards, which fall into two categories, provide the opportunity to recognise outstanding performance at a company level as well as recognising the contribution of high-performing individuals in the industry.

The finalists for the Oil & Gas UK Awards 2018 are:

Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by OPITO

  • Ryan Fernando, Aker Solutions
  • Harry Houghton, Spirit Energy
  • Lois Preece, Spirit Energy

Graduate of the Year – sponsored by ECITB

  • Eilidh Macleod, Atkins
  • Gareth McQueen, Shell U.K. Ltd
  • Adam Zalewski, BP

Mentor of the Year

  • Shona Campbell, Total E&P UK Limited
  • Victoria Lamont, Shell U.K. Limited
  • Giuseppe Tizzano, BP

Workforce Engagement – sponsored by Fairfield Energy Limited

  • Apollo
  • Shell U.K. Limited
  • Wood

Business Innovation and Efficiency – SME

  • AIS Training
  • Apollo
  • Subsea Technologies Ltd

Business Innovation and Efficiency – Large Enterprise

  • Chevron North Sea Limited
  • Shell
  • Stork

Diversity and Inclusion – sponsored by Spirit Energy

  • Atkins (Member of the SNC Lavalin Group)
  • BP
  • Sodexo

Excellence in Decommissioning

  • CNR International (UK) Ltd
  • Fairfield Energy Limited / Decom Energy Limited
  • Saipem / Petrofac

MER UK Award – sponsored by OGA

  • Buzzard Phase II Integrated Project Team
  • CML, Dana Petroleum & Premier Oil
  • CNR International
  • Spirit Energy & OGTC

Reservations for the celebratory awards night are now being taken at the Oil & Gas UK awards website here .



Share this article

Working together, producing cleaner energies