OEUK news

Inspiring industry leaders and pioneering projects recognised at annual awards

2 November 2018

The finalists and winners of the Oil & Gas UK Awards 2018 celebrate


An inspirational graduate whose safety initiatives have led the way for critical emergency response plans offshore, and an industry-leading project which championed collaboration were among those who secured accolades last night (Thursday, November 2) at the Oil & Gas UK Awards 2018.

More than 500 people from across the industry gathered to celebrate pioneering individuals and companies for their contributions in business innovation, workforce engagement and decommissioning.

Hosted by Channel 4 news presenter Cathy Newman, the annual ceremony held at the AECC in Aberdeen recognises outstanding performance from companies, as well as high-performing individuals, for their unique, positive and notable contributions to the sector.

Praising the winners, Deirdre Michie, Chief Executive of Oil & Gas UK, said:

“Our awards are a highlight of the industry calendar and are an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of the people in our pioneering sector, which continues to adapt, improve and build its strength even in the face of the tough challenges in recent years.

“Hearing about the remarkable achievements by companies and individuals reinforces the bright future which lies ahead for the UK’s offshore oil and gas industry.

“Many congratulations to all winners and those who were shortlisted.  Our judges had a tough job sifting through really great nominations, all of which serve as a reminder of the dedication, perseverance and continued hard work of those working in our sector.”

Sponsored by Shell UK Limited, who this year celebrate 50 years of operation in the UKCS, the evening also included a speech from the company’s Vice President of Upstream, Steve Phimister.

The winners across the nine categories are as follows:

The Oil & Gas UK Young Professional of the Year Award 2018

Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by OPITO)

Ryan Fernando, Aker Solutions

Graduate of the Year (sponsored by ECITB)

Gareth McQueen, Shell U.K. Limited

The Oil & Gas UK Mentor of the Year Award 2018

Giuseppe Tizzano, BP

The Oil & Gas UK Diversity and Inclusiveness Award 2018 (sponsored by Spirit Energy)

BP North Sea BRGs

The Oil & Gas UK Workforce Engagement Award 2018 (sponsored by Fairfield Energy Limited)

Shell U.K. Limited

The Oil & Gas UK Business Innovation Award 2018

SME – AIS Training

Large Enterprise – Stork, A Fluor Company

The Oil & Gas UK Excellence in Decommissioning Award 2018

CNR International (UK) Limited

The Oil & Gas Authority MER UK Award 2018 (sponsored by Oil and Gas Authority)

CNR International (UK) Limited

HGSL, Dana Petroleum and Premier Oil

Share this article

Working together, producing cleaner energies